John and Sons Oyster House

I discovered this place when I went to a sushi festival in Scarborough. The sushi fest itself turned out to be a huge disappointment; standing in long lines for teeny tiny pieces of sushi, cold meat skewers and Karaoke were not my idealization of a sushi festival.  The only gem from this disappointing night was discovering a little booth selling freshly shucked oysters.

John and Sons Oyster house is located at 56 Temperance St, in Toronto. Don’t let the unassuming store front tucked away in an alleyway fool you, it’s not actually a hidden secret. Every time I’ve been it’s been packed and for good reason.  I mainly go to take advantage of their buck a shuck and $5 pints for happy hour. They have 5 different sauces for their oysters with some of them being made in house. The oysters are served with a side of freshly grated horseradish and lemon wedges. J&S oysters are delivered daily so you know it’s always fresh, but this runs the risk of a shipment not showing up and shattering your buck a shuck dreams. The regular priced oysters range from $3-5 from both east and west coast, but it adds up fast if you’re an oyster monster like myself. Based on Yelp reviewers the other dishes are amazing too, but after splurging on my oyster fix, I like to head over to Dundas Street to find good cheap eats that are filling. A perfect ending for the perfect night!

http://johnandsonsoysterhouse.com/

