Originally published April 24, 2013 

A skin care fanatic on a tight budget

While trying to keep a budget on how much I spend on skin care, I often get excited and suckered into buying what I thought was the magical product at that time. While I may be excited to try the product my excitement of a new product quickly disappears after I hit the “confirm” button for my credit card transaction.  Once the product arrives, I’m not eager to open up the package nor am I too eager to try it immediately, but when I do, I’m often more disappointed than pleasantly surprised and after a while, it ends up on some shelf covered with dust.  

With growing up in the way and things like bills, groceries and mortgages to worry about, I am constantly looking for ways to feed my obsession while protecting my wallet. The fastest and easiest way to do this would be to go all naturale! Despite the countless home remedies out there for different skin ailments, you have to use common sense and a willingness to try attitude. Most importantly don’t be a blind lab rat RESEARCH! RESEARCH! RESEARCH! In my recent internet search for a mask that deep cleanses while hydrating the skin, I came across a very simple recipe stating that it’ll do just that. May I present the star of the show …*drum roll*……

Honey Lemon Oatmeal Mask!

Ingredients:

Honey

Lemon juice (a few drops)

Oatmeal (blended)

Blend the oatmeal until you obtain a fine powdery texture, squeeze a few drops of lemon juice into the mixture and add honey to create a paste. Spread it on your face (watch out for the hairline as once it gets stuck in your hair, it’s hard to get it out) and let it sit for about 40 minutes. You can even use this as an exfoliator, just don’t scrub too hard.

Honey‘s natural anti-oxidant and anti-microbial properties help to protect the skin from the sun’s damaging rays, while supporting the skins ability to rejuvenate and replenish”

Lemon juice is a natural skin whitener as well as an exfoliator with its acidic properties, however do not go overboard as I’ve mentioned before use common sense. Since it is acidic using too much on the skin will cause irritation. This is great for evening out and brightening the skin tone.

“Oats has long been a natural skin enhancer; they soothe and heal the skin while reducing inflammation “

Put all of these little gems together and you’ll have the 3’S people are desperately looking for in the billion dollar skin care industry “soft, smooth and supple”.

I’ve found this to be my saving grace for my combination acne prone skin. This simple recipe has done wonders for me and I hope it’ll work for you too!

All in all,

Consistency = dependent on how much honey you put in it (don’t put too much or it’ll run off your face)

Skin feels = smooth and soft like a baby’s bottom

Price = ½$ out of $$$$$ ($$$$$ being most expensive)

Season = Winter/Spring mask, may be too heavy for the Summer

Scent = Yummy! I want to eat it

Moisturizing ability = amazing, leaves skin hydrated but not greasy

I would definitely recommend trying this mask!

You can even use this mixture as an overall body scrub to pamper yourself once in a while or to lighten and brighten the skin tone on your elbows and knees.

Till next time Lotion Notion (and Home- made remedies)

