Originally published May 6, 2012 

First up: St. Ives Collagen Elastin Lotion.

Prior to visiting  St Ives Collagen Elastin Lotion I had no idea that St. Ives lotion was 100% natural, but upon reading the ingredients on the back of my bottle I only recognized two ; aqua = liquid and glycerin (glyercol) = naturally occurring alcohol compound and a component to many lipids (www.ewg.org/skindeep).

Guilty is charged! the price is the sole dictator of my purchase, especially when there’s a deal. With St.Ives being the most affordable brand name lotion I’ve come across so far ($2-5 range for 600 mL), how could I say no?? The consistency of the lotion is a lot lighter than the ones I’m used to (imagine vegetable soup w/o the veggies), it’s quite runny and a powerful push on the nozzle does send the lotion flying. This light weight lotion absorbs almost instantly leaving the skin fresh and non-greasy making it a great summer lotion.

The collagen elastin lotion has an overpowering scent of …..”artificial freshness” I can’t quite put my finger on it (sort of like a concentrated smell of freshly cut grass x 10). The ability to keep the skin moist is “so so”, I don’t exactly have dry skin, but there are small wrinkles on my legs that I would like to get rid of. With that being said, I don’t agree with their “younger looking skin” statement that they have printed on their label, as I haven’t seen any major improvements to my skin after using it for over a month.

All in all,

Consistency = watery

Skin feels = fresh, non-greasy

Price = $ out of $$$$$ ($$$$$ being most expensive)

Season = summer lotion

Scent = powerfully artificial

Moisturizing ability = ok

I would say it’s not a bad lotion to get for the summer time (especially for the price), but if I needed something with greater moisturizing power, St. Ives wouldn’t be my first choice.

Until next time…. LotionNotion!

*Disclaimer, the above are thoughts and opinions of my own and results may differ from user to user*

